Skip to content

She Liked It…!

October 13, 2012


A couple of days ago I mentioned that one of the projects I’ve been working on recently is writing a murder mystery. This afternoon I went to the NSW Writers Centre to meet with a professional editor who has read a synopsis and some of the work. I’ve been working on this manuscript for over ten months now so I was nervous when I arrived at the lovely old building for my appointment. I told myself that if she said it was crap then I would self publish immediately and have done with it. If other people can make money self publishing rubbish, then so can I.

Amazingly, it turns out that she quite liked what she read and was enthusiastic about the chances of the book being published. Added to this was the fact that she liked my ideas for a series of murder mystery stories based around my protagonist sleuth – Professor Israel Wren. She also had  some excellent advice to offer regarding a specific plot issue and some style issues. After that we had an interesting chat about the changes that are happening in the publishing world right now.

I couldn’t be happier with the manuscript assessment process at the NSW Writers Centre and would recommend it to anyone in New South Wales who is writing a book – particularly your first book.

Right – that’s my little humblebrag over – tune in for more app stuff next week. There’s plenty happening that’s for sure!

From → Port Stephens

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

