Skip to content

I Haz A Demo App on my iPhone

October 8, 2012

So my friend and I have finally built our first app.  It was a great feeling to see the trial version nestled in amongst the apps I use every day on the front page of my iPhone. Better than that, it has come through rigorous testing without a glitch and seems be both robust and functional…fantastic.

My friend Ian and I have come a long way since I approached him last year to help me build my first app. I had spent months writing down ideas and scouring the app store to see whether someone else had built a similar app. As I mentioned in my last post (that wasn’t a quote or saying dropped into WordPress via the app itself) – As a general rule, if it’s a good idea then it’s been done already. That’s not always a bad thing, it generally shows the idea has some merit and you’re on the right track. I ended up settling on the ‘words4cards’ concept because I thought the apps built to fill this need didn’t cut the mustard. I’ll have a little chat about our opposition in a future post.

I spent months last year scouring books of quotes and the net to find just the right words I was looking for and compiling them in an excel spreadsheet. I targeted roughly 50 great quotes, sayings or phrases for each category. The categories I ended up with were as follows:

Birth of a Child

Birthday – General

Birthday – Humour

Birthday – Inspirational

Birthday – Naughty

Birthday – Romantic

(I felt that Birthdays would be the most commonly used category, which is why I added so many sub-categories. I added 50 sets of words for each Birthday sub category.)

Bon Voyage / Farewell

Condolences

Fathers Day

General Inspiration

Get Well Soon

Mothers Day

Weddings

In the meantime I convinced my friend Ian to have a crack at coding the app. Ian has degrees in Biology and Economics but makes his living as a programmer. Problem was he had no experience with Objective C and he didn’t even own a Mac!. So while I was collecting words, Ian bought himself a Mac, downloaded X-Code and started teaching himself how to build a robust iOS app.

Our journey has had its ups and downs over the last year. There have been times when I thought we wouldn’t even get it finished, so I was pretty stoked to be able to see the fruits of our labours on my phone the other morning and have it working so smoothly. Come back to this blog if you want to learn more about our adventures as newbie app builders.

Cheers

Greg

From → Apps, greetings

7 Comments
  1. Love this idea for an app and congrats on getting your first app live! 🙂

    • Thank you for your kind words Mary. I hope you keep coming back to share our trials and tribulations in this venture. The next major hurdle is the App store approval process!

    • Ooh – I just went over to your site and checked it out. That looks like a great app! I’ll be interested to try it when it comes out.

      • Mary, Blog Pad Pro permalink

        thanks, we’re just getting ready to submit it to the app store so fingers crossed it should be available soon! Out of interest how long did it take to get your app through the approval process?

      • We haven’t submitted yet either Mary – I keep hearing horror stories but it can’t be that bad. Fingers crossed for you 🙂

      • Mary, Blog Pad Pro permalink

        good luck to you too! – let me know how you get on 🙂

      • Roger that – same here

Leave a Reply

